Home > FTM 2017 > Moving a Tree from Earlier Versions to FTM 2017 for Windows

Moving a Tree from Earlier Versions to FTM 2017 for Windows

How do I move my tree from earlier Window versions of Family Tree Maker to FTM 2017? 

Follow the steps below to migrate your tree safely.

Backing up your file

Restoring your file
 

Backing up a file in your old version of FTM

1. In your old version of FTM, open the tree you want to move and choose Backup from the File menu. 

2. You can change the name in the Backup file name field if you wish, but be sure not to change the file extension if there is one (.ftmb). Choose a location to save your backup file. Click Removable media if you want to save it to a USB flash drive or other removable media.

3.  In the Include in backup section, select the items you want to have in the backup. Make sure the Media files checkbox is selected if you want to include your photos and other media. 

4. If the current tree is linked to an online tree on Ancestry.com, select the Allow restored file to resume syncing checkbox. This will allow the backed-up tree to automatically relink to the online tree when it’s restored in FTM 2017. Click OK

5. A backup file with the .ftmb extension will be saved to the location you specified. 


 

Restoring a file from a backup in FTM 2017

1. Open Family Tree Maker 2017 and choose Restore from the File menu. 

2. In the Choose File to Restore window, go to the location of the backup file you created in your old version of FTM, select it, then click Open.

3. Enter a name and choose a location for the restored file, then click Save. If the tree in your backup file is not linked to one on Ancestry.com, the file will be imported and you have finished.

4.  If your backup file contains a tree that is linked to one on Ancestry.com, the Restore - Additional Options dialog opens. Select the "Allow restored file to resume syncing” checkbox, and then click OK.  

 

5. Once the file is restored, click the sync icon in the upper-right corner and choose Sync Now from the pop-up menu to make sure your restored tree is correctly synced with the Ancestry tree.

Couldn’t find the answer you needed? Click here for further assistance.