Home > FTM 2014.1, 3.1 and Older > Backing Up a File in Family Tree Maker for Windows

Backing Up a File in Family Tree Maker for Windows

Backing Up a File in Family Tree Maker for Windows

How do I back up a file in Family Tree Maker?

1. Click the File menu in the upper-left and select Backup to open the Backup window.

2. Use the Backup file name field to change the tree name.

3. By default, Family Tree Maker will save backups to the working directory. This is the folder where all your family trees are stored by default (typically the Documents folder). If you wish to change the location, Select Custom directory and then click Change.

  • Removable media allows you to back the tree up to a removable drive, such as a floppy disk, USB drive, or writable CD or DVD disk. Use the Removable media drop-down list to select the drive you want to back up to. Make sure the removable media is attached to the computer or loaded into the proper drive.
  • Working directory indicates that you want to save to the default Family Tree Maker folder.
  • Custom directory lets you select the folder where you want to write the backup file.

4. Select what data you want to be included in your backup file.

Note: All these options are only available in Family Tree Maker 2012 and later.

  • Media Files: Includes all media files that are linked to the tree, even if they are not copied to the tree's default media folder. If you use this setting, make sure that all linked media files are currently accessible (i.e., remote files are on an attached drive).
  • Historical Events: Backs up all of the historical events that you created or edited for inclusion in time lines.

Note: Historical events are not part of a tree file. They are saved as with the properties of Family Tree Maker so they can be used with all of your tree files. Adding them to the backup saves them in the case of a computer failure or if you are moving the file to a different computer. You can also use the backup to share the historical events you have created with a different user. On restoring a backup, the backed up historical events are added to the historical events already in the program.

  • Web Favorites: Backs up all of the web addresses that you included in Manage Favorites in the Web Search workspace.
  • Allow restored file to resume syncing: Backs up the file in a way that, when restored, you can sync the restored file with the associated Ancestry family tree. If you do not select this option, you will not be able to sync with the existing tree, but you can upload the tree from the restored file to sync with.

IMPORTANT: For best results, restore and sync the tree as soon as you can. Family Tree Maker will do its best to sync any changes made in the online tree. When Family Tree Maker syncs the files, it will add any new facts, but if any facts are deleted in Ancestry, they will be added again from the backup file.

Note: When you sync the restored tree with the Ancestry family tree, the file previously linked to that tree will be unlinked. In other words, you cannot use Backup to sync multiple Family Tree Maker files with a single Ancestry family tree.

5. Click OK to initiate the backup process. Once complete, you will receive a prompt stating the file was saved to the specified location. Click OK to close this window.​

Couldn’t find the answer you needed? Click here for further assistance.