Home > FTM 2014.1, 3.1 and Older > Moving files from FTM 2012-2014 to a new PC with FTM 2014.1 

Moving files from FTM 2012-2014 to a new PC with FTM 2014.1 

How do I move files from Family Tree Maker 2012-2014 to a new PC with FTM 2014.1?

Follow the steps below to migrate your tree safely.

Step 1. Backing up a file in your old version of Family Tree Maker

1. In your old version of Family Tree Maker, open the tree you want to move and choose Backup from the File menu. 

2. Choose a location for saving your backup file. Click Removable media if you want to save it to a USB flash drive or other removable media.


3.  Choose which additional information you want to have in the backup by selecting or deselecting the “Include in backup” options.  Make sure the Media files checkbox is selected if you want to include your photos and other media. 

4. If the current tree is linked to an online tree at Ancestry.com, select the Allow restored file to resume syncing checkbox. This will allow you to have the backed-up tree automatically relinked to the online tree when it’s restored on your new PC. Click OK

5. A backup file with the .ftmb extension will be saved to the location you specified, and you can transfer it to your new PC.


Step 2. Restoring a file from a backup in  Family Tree Maker 2014.1

1. Open Family Tree Maker 2014.1 and choose Restore from the File menu. 

2. In the Choose File to Restore window, go to the location of the backup file you created in your old version Family Tree Maker, select it, and then click Open.

3. Enter a name and choose a location for the restored file, and then click Save. The file will be restored. If the tree in your backup file is not linked to one at Ancestry.com, you can skip the rest of the steps — you have finished.

4. If your backup file contains a tree that is linked to one at Ancestry.com, the Restore - Additional Options dialog opens. Select the "Restore sync files” checkbox, and then click OK.  


5. Once the link is restored, click the sync icon in the upper-right corner and choose Sync Now from the pop-up menu to make sure your restored tree is correctly synced with the Ancestry tree.

Couldn’t find the answer you needed? Click here for further assistance.