Home > FTM 2019 > Using the Turn Back Time Feature

Using the Turn Back Time Feature

From time to time, you will probably make a change in your tree that in hindsight turns out to have been a mistake. And that one false step might have led to a string of unwanted changes. With the Turn Back Time feature you can easily return your tree to the state it was in just before the original mistake was made without having to undo all of your actions one by one. And unlike the Undo command in the Edit menu, it works even if you’ve closed and reopened the tree in the meantime.

Using the Turn Back Time Feature in FTM 2019 for Mac

Using the Turn Back Time Feature in FTM 2019 for Windows

 

Using the Turn Back Time Feature in FTM 2019 for Mac

Follow these steps to roll back changes:

  1. Go to the Current Tree tab on the Plan workspace.
     
  2. Click the Change Log tab to see an ordered list of up to 1000 of the most recent changes that you have made to your tree. You can print the list by clicking the Print Change Log button at the top of the tab. 


     
  3. Use the three pop-up menus at the top of the tab to help your search. You can sort the list by the object (the person record, the media item, the smart filter, etc.), date, type of record (person, media, or source), and change type (addition, change, or deletion). You can click the Expand all button to view all lists of changes sorted by object and the Collapse all button to show only the names of the objects again. To display changes from the earliest to the latest or the other way around, click the Change Date column header.


     
  4. Select a change in the list, then do one of the following:
     
    • If you want to locate the person, media item, or source to which the selected change was made, click Go To. You will be taken to the place in Family Tree Maker® where you can review the record and its associated information and make any necessary corrections or changes. 
       
    • To reverse the selected change and all the changes that were made after it, click Roll Back Changes. If you have reviewed the record, you will need to go back to the Change Log tab and select the change again.
       
  5. If you decided to roll back the changes, review the list of everything that will be undone in the dialog that appears. To print the list, click Print. Make sure the Backup your tree before rolling back changes checkbox is selected so that your tree is securely backed up before proceeding. Then click Roll Back Changes to confirm the rollback.

 

Using the Turn Back Time Feature in FTM 2019 for Windows

Follow these steps to roll back changes:

  1. Go to the Current Tree tab on the Plan workspace.
     
  2. Click the Change Log tab to see an ordered list of up to 1000 of the most recent changes that you have made to your tree. You can print the list by clicking the Print Change Log button at the top of the tab. 


     
  3. Use the three pop-up menus at the top of the tab to help your search. You can sort the list by the object (the person record, the media item, the smart filter, etc.), date, type of record (person, media, or source), and change type (addition, change, or deletion). You can click the Expand all button to view all lists of changes sorted by object and the Collapse all button to show only the names of the objects again. To display changes from the earliest to the latest or the other way around, click the Change Date column header.


     
  4. Select a change in the list, then do one of the following:
     
    • If you want to locate the person, media item, or source to which the selected change was made, click Go To. You will be taken to the place in Family Tree Maker where you can review the record and its associated information and make any necessary corrections or changes. 
       
    • To reverse the selected change and all the changes that were made after it, click Roll Back Changes. If you have reviewed the record, you will need to go back to the Change Log tab and select the change again.
  5. If you decided to roll back the changes, review the list of everything that will be undone in the dialog that appears. To print the list, click Print. Make sure the Backup your tree before rolling back changes checkbox is selected so that your tree is securely backed up before proceeding. Then click Roll Back Changes to confirm the rollback.

    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Couldn’t find the answer you needed? Click here for further assistance.